Div. II Selections

May 4, 2006



INDIANAPOLIS -- A total of 105 participants will compete in the 2006 NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championships.

<u>Send</u>

The championships will be held May 16-19, at The Resort at Glade Springs in Daniels, West Virginia. The championships are being hosted by Concord University and The West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

The winner of each region from the super regionals received an automatic berth to the finals. In addition to the ten automatic berths, three additional berths were allotted to the Atlantic/Southeast super regional, three to the South/South Central super regional and four to the West/Northwest super regional. The top individual from each super regional site not on an advancing team also was selected to compete.

The teams and individuals selected for the 2006 championships are listed below:

Northeast Region: Team: Goldey-Beacom Individuals: None

East Region:

Team: Concord Individual: Michael Todd, Charleston (West Virginia)

Atlantic Region:

Team: Coker Individual: Dion Sirranni, Lees-McRae

Southeast Region:

Team: South Carolina-Aiken Individuals: None

Additional Atlantic/Southeast Berths: (Teams)

Pfeiffer Barton Columbus State

South Region: Team: Florida Southern Individual: Will Grace, West Florida

South Central Region:

Team: Cameron Individuals: None

Additional South/South Central Berths: (Teams)

Lynn North Alabama St. Mary's (Texas)

Central Region:

Team: Winona State Individuals: None

Great Lakes Region:

Team: Saginaw Valley State Individual: Steve Larson, Grand Valley State

West Region:

Team: Cal State Bakersfield Individual: Sean Packer, Western Washington

Northwest Region:

Team: St. Cloud State Individuals: None

Additional West/Northwest Berths: (Teams)

St. Martin's Grand Canyon Cal State Stanislaus Cal State San Bernardino

The University of South Carolina at Aiken won their second men's golf title in 2005 at The Club at Savannah Harbor in Savannah, Georgia. They captured the title with a fivestroke win over Armstrong Atlantic State University. South Carolina-Aiken's Dane Burkhart shot a five-under, 279 to win his first individual title.

Highlights of the NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championships will be shown on CBS at 3 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, July 1. The CBS seasonal show will feature highlights of 17 different NCAA championships that took place during the spring.

-- Courtesy NCAA.org